The Avicenna Virtual Campus Network (AVCN) an international non-profit organization (NGO). RCVA aims to support UNIVERSITIES, GRANDES ECOLES and all other public and private training institutions to succeed in the digital transition of education. This transition is necessary and fundamental for building the educational institutions of the future.

With the rapid development of digital technology, there is a need for reform to introduce new teaching methodologies and to use digital tools to ensure modern education adapted to current and future generations.

AVCN is UNESCO-NGO since October 2021 in Official Partnership with UNESCO adopted by the General Gonference and executive board of UNESCO: (See page 5).

Réf : UNESCO – 212 EX/36.INF – page 46.       212 EX/36 and 212 EX/36.INF.


AVCN is member of COVID-19 Global Education Coalition  launched by UNESCO.

AVCN offers a methodology which has been tested by UNESCO internationally. It is UNESCO’s Avicenna model that has become an International STANDARD. This model covers all the necessary aspects, notably: Educational, Quality Assurance, Technological, Legal and organizational. It is mainly based on building the capacity of teachers, producing quality online courses and establishing modern HYBRID education (online and face to face).

The Avicenna Concept was built on 6 pillars:

  • network organization

  • pedagogical model
  • the technological model with adapted connectivity

  • copyright and intellectual property

  • a reliable quality assurance system

  • integration of visually impaired teachers and students into the network.


AVCN is a continuation of the Avicenna program developed by UNESCO since 12/11/2003.

The program is named after the Latin name of the 10th century Persian medieval philosopher and scientist Ibn Sina (Avicenna / Avicenna) (Ref 0). (Link to a page on the site)

This program was formed by the implementation of several extra-budgetary projects on the digital transition of higher education to build the universities of the future in the Mediterranean, Africa, Central Asia and Arab States. This program has created a network of more than 50 universities which is the Avicenna network of UNESCO and continues to develop internationally and nationally (within countries).

But until September 2014 the UNESCO Avicenna network was informal. This is how the NGO AVCN was created to give the Avicenna Virtual Campus Network official legal status. A permanent international scientific council for Quality Assurance and Evaluation has also been set up under the aegis of this NGO.

The Avicenna Virtual Campus Network was initially officially created in November 2002 jointly by UNESCO and the European Commission, as part of the EUMEDIS program which brought together 14 universities in the Mediterranean region. Project funded by the European Commission for a budget of 4,600,000 Euros over 4 years.

Initially, the network was constituted by Mediterranean partner universities in Algeria, Cyprus, Egypt, Spain, France, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, Palestine, United Kingdom,  Syria, Tunisia, Turkey.

The partners of the initial Avicenna network

CNED: Centre national d’enseignement à distance (France)

CNAM: Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers (France)

NETTUNO: Network per l’Università Ovunque (Italy)

ALQ-U: Al-Quds Open University (Palestine) ( )

NIACE: National Institute of Adult Continuing Education (UK)

UM: Université de la Méditerrannée, Marseille (France)

UNED: Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia (Spain)

CU: Cairo University (Egypt)

ENSIAS: École Supérieure d’Informatique et d’Analyse des Systèmes (Morocco)

LU: Lebanese University

MCST: Malta Council for Science and Technology

METU: Middle East Technical University (Tukey)

PUA: Philadelphia University in Amman (Jordan)

UC: University of Cyprus

UD: University of Damascus (Syria)

UFC: Université de la Formation Continue (Algeria)

UVT: Université Virtuelle de Tunis (Tunisia)

In June 2006 (Ref1), (EC Report) the European Commission declared the Avicenna Virtual Campus “sustainable model“. Indeed, the Avicenna model differs from other virtual campuses by the fact that each university is autonomous in the creation of its own online course material. In addition, everyone is entitled to share the knowledge bank of an open virtual library created by the network partners. Within this network of virtual knowledge, professors organize online courses in science and engineering using programs from their university.

In October 2007 (Ref-2), the General Conference of UNESCO (193 countries) approved the use of the Avicenna model for the development of science in Africa. This is how the Avicenna model became a UNESCO STANDARD for higher education.

From 2008 to 2019, the Avicenna network has grown in Iraq, Africa (Benin, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Togo, Cape Verde and Gabon), Central Asia (Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan). National extensions of the network have been carried out in partner countries in Algeria, Egypt, Gabon and Senegal. New projects are being launched in Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Burkina Faso, Liberia, Chad and Georgia.